Allow No Whining

It has been a long time since I have posted to this blog mostly because I have been busy working on  a book with the working title Defeating the Enemy. It is a book about a young woman who learns she has fibromyalgia. She is single, a hard worker, a participator in life. When she learns there is no known cure for fibromyalgia (also known as FMS) she is devastated. She is in pain, and fears her life will always be limited now.

I am trying not to make this book autobiographical, but I can’t help but insert some of my own experiences with FMS. I think I started showing symptoms when I was in seventh or eighth grade. Of course, no one knew what it was then. My parents were at a loss as to what to do for me. Was I just trying to get attention? Was I a liar? After all, I did have ambitions to be a writer; was this another story I was telling?

As I grew to adulthood, there were other explanations. I was too emotional. I didn’t eat right. I was too busy and needed to balance my life. The worst one of all was I had a spiritual problem. When I learned I had a disease called fibrositis, later renamed fibromyalgia, I didn’t believe it for two years. I had bought into all the lies and accusations.

My problems were complicated by experiencing extensive arthritis, called by one doctor “progressive degenerative joint disease.” I have learned to live with both conditions. They are a fact of my life.

I decided I wanted to use what I have learned over the years, so I started writing Defeating the Enemy. It took a year for me to finish the first draft. Tomorrow I begin working on it again after a three week break during which I typed into my computer an old book that I had written in the early eighties. My purpose is not to whine about my aches and pains, but to inform through fiction. I have researched the subject thoroughly, so my information is as up to date and I can make it. I would appreciate your prayers as I continue to work.

Comment

