Sometimes it is difficult to commit myself to a particular story because I feel so emotional about it. When I wrote “Really, Marty!” and an acquaintance of the main character committed suicide, my mind went back to my years in high school when one of my friends committed suicide. Writing Marty’s emotions made me grieve all over again. Today I read a quotation by Robert Frost: “No tears for the writer, no tears for the reader.” It is very hard to be objective when the heart is affected.

Comment

